RSS Feed

I made cake! And it tasted like cake!

Baking has never been my strong point. Before GF & DF I never even bothered because I could just go and buy cake. But the gluten free cakes out there, in my experience, are pretty bad. Anyway, I finally got hold of some gluten free baking powder (that stuff is like gold dust!), and had the urge to make a cake. I had the urge to make a chocolate cake, but there’s no DF chocolate, or cocoa powder in the house. So I used hot chocolate powder. And it was good! Recipe below.

Gluten & Dairy free chocolate & brazil nut cake (with ‘artistic’ drizzle of soy cream courtesy of OH)

Ingredients:

125g rice flour

150g demarara sugar

25g hot chocolate powder (I used Green & Blacks)

150g dairy free margarine

3 eggs

1 tsp gluten free baking powder

1/2 tsp xanthan gum

1 handful brazil nuts, chopped

Method:

mix everything together in a bowl

spread evenly into a greased baking tin

bake at 180 degrees for 20 – 25 minutes

Voila, the easiest chocolate cake ever. It’s not the prettiest cake, but it was my best cake yet!

About intoleranceisbliss

Finding out I was intolerant to gluten hit me hard. I love bread, I love beer, and I've never had much time to cook. Discovering I was lactose intolerant floored me. Goodbye cheese, and goodbye convenience. More than 12 months since my discovery, I can actually say it changed my life for the better - being intolerant to stuff isn't the end of the world. I promise :)

add your comments / questions here :)

